Squashing the PITA!

Over the last couple of months, I have been nagging myself to fix several of the issues with my Linux installation, in particular I need to:

  • update my kernel (currently 2.6.27-rc9)
  • get the wacom input device working with the newest xorg-server
  • add some snaz to my desktop configuration (openbox, dmenu…bleh)

So, sparing you the `wget`ing and `tar -xf`ing, I upgraded my kernel to 2.6.29-rc2 and enabled the kernel modesetting. This enables me to switch to the console with no delay, instead of the current 2-3 second delay. Good news: the upgrade worked well.

Additionally, I upgraded my xorg-server to 1.6.1: the only problem was wacom tablet didn’t work, so I installed the development version of linuxwacom (version 8.3-3).

Everything works well so far except rendering terminals. When I try to open alsamixer with uxterm or resize it, the terminal behaves as if it has a really low refresh rate. I am looking into the issue and I will post a fix if I find one.

As for the ‘added snaz,’ I’ll deal with that another time.  Right now I’m just happy that my fps in stepmania has increased by about 20!

One Comment

  1. antonyjepson
    Posted 29 April, 2009 at 03:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Fix: Wait until 2.6.30 and assume problems will magically disappear.

Leave a Reply

